Head Rebuild

 I had originally planned on getting a brand new aftermarket head with stainless steel valves and the works which would have set me back nealy $1000. I was looking for ways to reduce the cost and speed up completion and it occured to me that I already had a perfectly fine head with welded up jet valves, why replace something that isn’t broken. So I stripped down the head and stopped by the local machine shop to have it cleaned, resurfaced and inspected. I also had the rocker arm shafts professionaly cleaned since I saw some metal shavings inside the oil supply holes.
 
Before
During
I would have been done today, but it suddenly occured to me that I ordered everything except auto lash adjusters. I got half way done putting all the valve springs on when I noticed that the springs where not semetric, they are more compressed on one end. So I checked the service manual and it says the side with enamal goes up, well the aftermarket ones I bought are not marked at all and the old ones were also not stock. After some soul searching on the internets I have come to the conclusion that the more compressed end faces the head. This matches my vauge notion of how it was when removing the old ones. So now I must wait for the auto lash adjusters to come in.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment